Melrose Rugby Sevens 2023

Melrose Rugby Sevens 2023


Melrose Rugby Club



Melrose Sevens is an annual rugby tournament held in Melrose, Scotland. It is one of the oldest rugby sevens tournaments in the world, with a history dating back to 1883.

The tournament was first held as a fundraising event for the local rugby club, Melrose RFC. The event quickly gained popularity and became an annual tradition. Over the years, the tournament has attracted rugby teams from around the world, making it a truly international event.

The Melrose Sevens tournament is played in a knockout format, with teams playing seven-minute halves. The fast-paced and exciting nature of the game has made it a favourite among rugby fans, and the tournament continues to draw large crowds every year.

The Melrose Sevens has also been a breeding ground for rugby talent, with many players using the tournament as a stepping stone to higher levels of competition. Notable players who have played in the Melrose Sevens include Bill McLaren, Gavin Hastings, and Gregor Townsend.

Today, the Melrose Sevens is one of the most prestigious rugby sevens tournaments in the world, attracting top teams and players from around the globe. It remains an important part of the Scottish rugby calendar and a beloved event for rugby fans everywhere.


For more information:


Melrose Sevens Draw 2023

Back to blog